La Semana de la Nueva Casa

So this week was a little busy t say the least. I haven’t really mentioned it in my last letter but the people that owned the house that the church was renting for us decided that the wanted it back and that we had until the end of august to get out. So we found a house (which by the way is still not in the sector that we work in) and left it to the office to tell us when we could move in. This Thursday, which was the 3rd of September (my three month mark … one eighth down) we got a call from the office that pretty much said the we need to move and have the house cleaned before Monday. So we basically had to drop everything that we were doing to get that done. It really sucks when you are called to preach the gospel and instead you have to move and clean a house for three days. 


IMG_0264

Elder Flowerchild

But other than that the week wasn’t all too bad.. So as some as you may know that in the Chile MTC on your last week you get to take a day and go proselyting (spell check?). And on Friday my companion and I got to go on splits with a companionship from the MTC. It was pretty cool, but pretty nerve-racking at the same time because I only have three months and the companion that I got could speak nothing of Spanish. But surprisingly I was able to hold my own and hopefully teach the kid a few things about the work. (BTW I don’t know how many Eyres read these but for those that do the Elder that I was paired up with was your cousin). 

IMG_5512

Me and Elder Colby Eyre on splits

Not too many updates as far as it goes with our investigators… Elder Smith and I are trying to get back on track so we can start planting the seeds of success. But Spanish is coming along good y todo. 

IMG_0283IMG_0277

estábamos chupando la piña (thats what missionaries say to say make out) but we drank mate out of a pineapple

And now for some sort of spiritual thought:

So I have been reading some talks and finding in the scriptures a lot about the atonement. But how we can use the atonement for more than receiving forgiveness from our sins. But also how we can find reliefe and strength from all of our weakness and challenges that we face in life. It says somewhere in Alma chapter 7 (I dont have my scriptures with me to give you the verse) that when Jesus Christ suffered in the garden for all of us, that he took on all of our sins, transgressions, temptations, weaknesses, infirmities y todo. So my point really is that you can turn to the Lord with all challenges that you face in life, He knows what you are going through because He went through literally the same exact thing. But that is what I wanted to share briefly. 

-If the bitter cup doesn’t pass, drink it and be stronger – Elder Holand

Con Amor

Elder Rusick (Chile)

Leave a Reply

