Smile, it looks good on you!

Well hello there family and friends. How are you all doing? I hope you´re all doing well. 

I´m not going to lie to you guys right now. Theres not a whole lot in me that wants to write right now. But it says in the missionary handbook that I have to … so here we go. 

IMG_2182

Mate + Study

So pretty much all that happened this week was that we were able to go to a zone conference on Wednesday. It was pretty sweet because we got to learn from our leaders. We got to see a video of the area presidency releasing the plan de area for the South America Southern area for the year. That was pretty awesome. The only part the wasn’t too awesome was that we were there until 7pm in the evening, and we didn’t get home until 8pm. So it kinda sucked that we lost a couple of appointments but what can be done?

The work week went on the same as always. 

IMG_2190

How to make a prayer sandwich

Today for PDay we played ping pong because there weren’t enough people to play soccer. 

Spiritual ThoughtS:

So in the beginning of the week I read two of my scriptures in the book of mormon. They are found in 3 Nefi 19:25,30. The are in reference to when Jesus smiles upon the Nephites in his ministry to them. 

I thought to myself as I read “why is it that I can read here about Jesus smiling and I can´t really find this kind of expression in the Bible?”. Then I thought of the situation. Jesus commanded the Nephites to pray, then he left to pray himself and when he came back they were still praying then he smiles upon them. He commands them to keep praying, he goes, prays, comes back they are still praying, he smiles upon them for the second time. I also would like to add that I imagine that this is more than any ordinary smile, because he also says in some part of all of this that “my joy is complete”. Also he says “never in all of Jerusalem have I seen such great faith”.

So I thought of the Nefite situation, then I thought of one other that was similar in the Bible. When Jesus Christ was in the Garden of Gethsemane he commanded three of his apostles (which soon became the first presidency of the church) to stay and pray while he went to go pray amongst other thing. He came back and they were asleep, and it says that Jesus became sad for this. Then he wakes them up and commands them to pray again while he goes to pray and complete his atoning sacrifice. He comes back and they are asleep again. 

Now I am not saying anything bad about Peter James or John, there were a lot of other things going on. But Jesus did become sad at the sight of them not completing with a commandment that he had given them. 

SO the thought, That great faith that brings about obedience is what causes Jesus to be happy, to receive a joy that is complete. Like it says in John “if ye love me keep my commandments”.  And as an added bonus Im sure that when the nefites received the smile of Jesus it felt pretty good, because it says that they became white even as Jesus was. 

I just want to bear my testimony of the divine plan of happiness that God has made for us. I want to say to everyone that reads this the same as i say to everyone that lets me talk to them. I know without any doubt that families can be forever. That through the restoration of the Priesthood of God I am sealed to my parents, my brother and all other members of my family. That the divine plan of God is that we can have joy eternal. I know that Jesus Christ is the savior and redeemer of the world and that his atoning sacrifice makes the plan go. And I share with you these things in His name, Jesus Christ. Amen. 

Elder Rusick 

Leave a Reply

